"She refused to be bored, chiefly because she wasn't boring." Zelda Fitzgerald

Showing posts with label training. Show all posts
Showing posts with label training. Show all posts

Tuesday, August 2, 2016

Working Out The Kinks


I am determined to figure fitness out. I will learn not just about eating in a healthy manner and growing my own food, but also about sports and sweat and hard work and muscles, darn it all! I am intimidated out of my own mind, I have all kinds of mental walls and fences and reasons why hydration and upping my reps and body aches from muscle work are "not my thing." But I will not be defeated or limited or shrunk down into a cute little box by gremlins or my own fear or my peers who aren't into any of these shenanigans. Thank you to all of you who have been my active and sporty friends...who have spoken and displayed athletic work and energy into my world. I may have scoffed or been jealous or made you feel unfeminine....but I appreciate it so much now. I needed you. I need you still.

Change requires a lot of shift and example and bravery. I'm glad you are in my life and working this energetic piece of growth. I wanna be a literary, painterly, silly, nature admiring woman with a strong, healthy body that she cares for wisely. I'm trying to figure out how.

Right now, I really love these helps:


  • This book about fitness motivation, which has been my biggest problem for eeeeeeeeever!


  • My FitBit...best way to track my steps without any extra work, feel challenged by the game of it all and also track my sleep. I have a Flex and love it for its simplicity.


  • The app Seven which is a beautifully approachable fitness routine that takes...a mere 7 minutes.


  • This powdered magnesium which helps with my mood and adds a shot of flavor to the first bottle of water I drink in a day. Motivation!


I have just made a promise to exercise every single day, for the next 21 days +.......

This is my accountability bulletin.


Photobucket

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Packing Everything, But The Diapers.

Well, folks....it feels amazingly good to be able to tell you that I met my goal of potty-training Dee before we left for California. Tomorrow we take off in a plane bound for the "other coast" and in our suitcase will be a lot of training pants and 2T underwear but just enough diapers to serve us at nighttime. Boy, is victory sweet!

I am so very proud of myself. I think I was a much more level-headed and kind potty training coach this time around although I'm not sure how much of that I can take credit for and how much of it is just his personality versus Ru's. He's less confrontationally stubborn and I feel like he is easier to work with. That said, I know I've grown and become a better mommy since I went through this stage with his big brother. How can you not grow? For one thing, I'm just older and more mature and for another, experience of course, is a wise teacher. There were not tears on my part this time. There were very few floor messes and there have been no meltdown shouting matches over "sitting right down on that potty young man, right now!" Whew.

It is positively mind stutter inducing to pack bags for our first trip with two potty trained children. I keep looking at their suitcase and alternately thinking "What's missing?" and "Where will I put all the diapers though?"  Then I catch myself and have one more good laugh about it and give myself a mental slap on the back. Nothing like reliving your own glorious success accidentally!

I have even stopped putting him in diapers at naptime because he doesn't want one on and most of the time manages to stay dry anyhow! I'm so proud of him I could bust! What a big boy! And can you believe my extreme luck? I will have only the baby in diapers in a month or so! WOOHOO!!!!

Tomorrow, our plane flies out and we'll haul all those triaining pants (and of course everything else we're bringing to the check-in desk) and head to Medford, Oregon where to adventure begins. I am bringing the laptop and plan to photograph and blog our way down the coast, thus to stay in touch (like a good blogger) and more clearly remember our exciting journey. I'll see you on the other side, wherever I get a chance to sit down with the keyboard and unload in the next 24 hrs.

Bon Voyage to us!!

Photobucket

Thursday, March 18, 2010

He's A Big Boy Now...

Demonstrating his new skillz

We're back to potty training again! Today was the first day on the "New Plan" with Dee. This meant that I didn't put a diaper on him once today and I spent a lot of time reminding him to go to the bathroom and taking him to the bathroom and reminding myself to remind him to go to the bathroom. Good times. Thankfully, he's more easy going about this whole enforced toilet use business than his brother and I am a more sedate and easy-going mommy than I was with his brother.

We have had some protesting when I tell him that its time to go but, no real meltdowns or genuine tears. And he caves fast and pees pretty much every time. We had about four misses today and many more hits, I never bothered to count. He's a real pro actually. Pretty much all of those misses were when I slacked off on reminding and taking him and once he even had to go and knew it and wanted to tell me but, suddenly panicked and didn't have the words to explain and just stood in the hall with legs apart, crying.

I notice I'm a little slow on the draw. I didn't catch on to that one for a good while. Poor kid. By the time I had it figured out and had him on the potty chair he needed new underwear again. Speaking of new underwear...I have to put in a load of laundry before I go to bed to make sure there is a constant supply.
 All muddy from playing outdoors in the amazing weather

But, yeah...its been long enough since I waded through this with Ru that I'm surprised what I had forgotten. I forgot that you don't start out with pants on...you just do it with underwear and then work up to pants when they become reliable. Right. I remembered that after the second complete lower outfit change of the day. Tomorrow is a new day.

But, I do have to say, I'm super proud of him for using the toilet so frequently today and I'm super proud of myself for never turning into grouch mommy. So far so good. I think the thing I'd really like to see him catch onto next is self initiating. He sometimes will take himself but, mostly he's just hanging out being passive, waiting for me to tell him to "Go now!" Anyone have any tips for that part? I forget completely how I got Ru to grasp that concept...if at all I really did anything specific.

Photobucket